A directory of browser-based WYSIWYG editors

MAIN
INDEX
SEARCH
LOG
IN

Home: htmlArea 2: htmlArea 2 & 3 archive (read only): htmlArea v2.0:
Plain Text Extract From HTMLArea

The htmlArea 2 & 3 editors have been discontinued.

We've made these forums available as a read-only reference and knowledge-base for people using or developing editors based on htmlArea 2 or 3.

Anyone who is interested in taking over version 2 or 3 is free to do so. All we ask is that you choose a new name that doesn't have "htmlarea" in it to avoid confusion with this site. We'll even give you a link in the directory to make it easier for people to find you. If you are developing or hosting an htmlArea based-editor under a new name, please submit it to our directory.

Abi
Novice

Sep 17, 2003, 4:03 AM

Post #1 of 5 (1799 views)
Shortcut
Plain Text Extract From HTMLArea Can't Post

Hi,

I'm new to the wonderful world of htmlArea - I downloaded and installed it just yesterday and am very impressed by its functionality.

However, I did wonder if it is possible to obtain the plain text version (no HTML tags) of the text entered into a htmlArea textbox.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Abi

prenaud
User

Sep 17, 2003, 9:17 AM

Post #2 of 5 (1791 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Abi] Plain Text Extract From HTMLArea [In reply to] Can't Post

I don't have much time right now...

If you look at my editor, I have a function that grabs plain text. Look for the notepad icon (top right). It's based on a script from Luis. I believe it was for someone who wanted to email plain text.

Pierre

ezHTMLarea - http://fslactivities.sd61.bc.ca/ezHTMLarea/

Abi
Novice

Sep 17, 2003, 9:29 AM

Post #3 of 5 (1787 views)
Shortcut
Re: [prenaud] Plain Text Extract From HTMLArea [In reply to] Can't Post

Okay - thx alot Pierre. I will have a look and shout if I am still having problems.

Abi

Luis
Veteran

Sep 17, 2003, 11:06 AM

Post #4 of 5 (1779 views)
Shortcut